Corporate Challenge 2015

Corporate Challenge 2015

2 years ago 0

The Gorge Narrows Rowing Club was pleased to host a Community Corporate Rowing Challenge season this spring. The Fairway Gorge Paddling Center, Ministry of Environment, Vivid Solutions, Rebalance MD, Ministry of Finance, a group of St. Michaels University School moms and a group of Gorge Narrows masters took part in the seven week season. The Challenge Regatta was hosted on May 30th on the Gorge waterway. The Harvey Cup and Symons Cup awarded the fastest novice 4x and fastest experienced 4x respectively.

This year, being the first year the event has been hosted on the Gorge waterway in many years was a huge success! We were thrilled to have nine quads racing at the regatta. The novice 4x, Hope Float’s members Tracey Hagkull, Sharon McLean, Rachel Calder, Susanne Walker-Curry and Tasha Williams won the Harvey Cup and finished as the top novice crew. The Fairway Gorge Paddling Center’s team OC4 won the Symons Cup; this team was composed of Erik Ages, Marcus Krieger, Andrea Pleven and Tara Hastings. We thoroughly look forward to the 2016 season and hope that as enrolment increases we will be able to have more people competing. Hopefully, next year we’ll see more groups racing 8+’s and we’ll be able to award the Barnacle Cup and Symons Cup to the fastest experienced and novice 8+’s.

Gorge Narrows Rowing would like to congratulate all crews and give a special thanks to Ken, Frank, Pat and Lisa for all of their help and hard work!

To see photos of the event please go to the ‘Gallery’ section of our website.

We are offering a special early bird discount for people interested in registering for the 2016 Corporate Challenge; pay by February 29th, 2016 to receive a $100.00 discount (before tax). For more details please phone 250-995-2290.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>